2017 ALA Youth Media Awards Winners!

This morning the American Library Association (ALA) announced the 2017 Youth Media Awards Winners at their annual Midwinter Conference in Atlanta, Georgia. These awards recognize excellence in children’s and young adult books, audio books and videos released during the 2016 calendar year.

The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children’s literature went to:

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers/Workman, 2016).

Three Newbery Honor Books were also named:

Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life, written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan (Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2016)

The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, written by Adam Gidwitz, illustrated by Hatem Aly (Dutton Children’s Books, 2016)

Wolf Hollow, written by Lauren Wolk (Dutton Children’s Books, 2016).


The Randolph Caldecott Medal for the most distinguished picture book for children went to:

Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat, written and illustrated by Javaka Steptoe (Little, Brown, 2016).

Four Caldecott Honor Books were also named:

Leave Me Alone! illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol (Roaring Brook Press, 2016)

Freedom in Congo Square, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie, written by Carole Boston Weatherford (Little Bee Books, 2016)

Du Iz Tak? illustrated and written by Carson Ellis (Candlewick Press, 2016)

They All Saw a Cat, illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel (Chronicle Books, 2016).


The Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults went to:

March: Book Three, created by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell (Top Shelf Productions, 2016).

***March: Book Three also won the Robert F. Sibert Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults Award.


*For a complete list of all the ALA Youth Media Award Winners and Honor Books, including the Pura Belpré Awards, Coretta Scott King Awards, and the Theodor Seuss Geisel Awards, click here.


Copyright © 2017 Jama Rattigan of Jama’s Alphabet Soup. All rights reserved.

5 thoughts on “2017 ALA Youth Media Awards Winners!

  1. Many of my favorite reads are here, but I’m most thrilled for March Book III!! Not only did it win the Prinz, but it also won Sibert, Coretta Scott King & YALSA Awards!! So deserving and a must read more than ever now.


Comments are closed.